Jenny's Library

Reading Round-up 2013: week 38

Posted on: December 29, 2013

cover image for Cold SteelCold Steel by Kate Elliot

The conclusion of Elliot’s Spiritwalker trilogy.  In which there are more “Revolutions to plot. Enemies to crush. Handsome men to rescue.” I’d tell you more, except that I would have to include spoilers for the first two books.

There are so many things that I love about this series, but Cat and Bee’s relationship is definitely my favorite.  Closely followed by Cat’s refusal to just sit and let Vai take care of everything, no matter how much she loves him. Also, all of the details about food and clothes and language and customs that make this alternate Earth so real and tangible.

cover image for Code Name VerityCode Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

I never know what to say about the plot of Code Name Verity because I’m always afraid I’ll reveal too much or color people’s perceptions more then I ought to. So instead I’ll just say that it’s a book about friendship. And war.  About courage and loyalty and so much more.  It’s one of the best books that I’ve read and I want everyone ever to read it too and tell me what they think. So much so that I gave three different people their own copies this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

