Jenny's Library

Reading Round-up 2015: February Board Books

Posted on: March 15, 2015

cover image for Are You My Mommy?Are You My Mommy? by Joyce Wan

“Mommy! Mommy! Where is my mommy?” a little bunny cries, as they ask all the animals they encounter if they are their mother.

SQUEE! A new Joyce Wan book!

No, this is not a new premise, but Wan’s take on it is excellent and fresh and adorable, as always.  Wan turns the common trope into a guessing game, as each adult animal responds to the bunny by saying “No, I am a [chicken/pig/horse] and my baby is a…” with the answer on the next page, giving little ones a chance to guess and show off. Each answer is also revealed with the use of a clever cut out, creating visual and tactile interest.  Plus, for such a small, short book, it does a wonderful job of introducing vocabulary – many board books use words like “chicken” but fewer use “foal.”

cover image for In My MeadowIn My Meadow by Sara Glillingham & Lorena Siminovich

I’ve reviewed another in this series and everything I said about In My Forest is true of this book as well.  The sense of place is not quite as well defined here, but that’s only because this book focuses more on sustenance (clover, strawberries, and cool water) than on surroundings.  And since that’s a decision that makes sense for a series of board books, and creates a richer experience over the course of the series, I can’t fault it or the creators for doing so.

cover image for Creature ColorsCreature Colors by Andrew Zuckerman

Yes, I know that your library probably has more books about colors than you know what to do with, but you’ll want to make room for this one, I promise.  Zuckerman’s brilliant, bright, and detailed photographs really make this book stand out, even if it does sometimes feel like half the animals are birds of one type or another.

Leave a Reply

